Composer: Bach Johann Sebastian
publisher: Santino Cara
instrumentation: Piano Solo
Scored For: Solo
Type of Score: Piano score
Year of Composition: 2015

Bach – Orchestral Suites for Piano solo

SKU: CS1732 Categories: ,
This score can be purchased on:


Description of the Suites

The orchestral suites inserted in this book, are introduced by a large piece in the French style: the Overture, divided into three sections: the first is made up of particular rhythms as, embellishments, arpeggios, etc., while the second is a theme dispelled (from fugue); the third, is the repetition of the first part, with some modifications, and this repetition, was inserted only by Bach and not by other composers composers.
After the first movement that we have described before, which is always the longest, the compositions do not follow the traditional pattern of the Baroque suite, consisting in allemanda, current, sarabande and gigue, but include several other dances, all smaller of the first movement.
We go now has describe the five suites which support the transcriptions for piano.
Suite No.1 in C major BWV 1066
The period of the composition of this first suite, you think to be located in the years that Bach he spent in the
court of Cöthen, around 1719, and came as published for the first time in Leipzig in 1853.
The orchestral ensemble of the suite no.1, consists of: Oboe I. & II., bassoon, Violin I. & II., Viola and B.C.
1. Ouverture.
2. Corrente.
3. Gavotte I. & II.
4. Forlane (Dance Venetian)
5. Minuet I. & II.
6. Bourrée I. & II.
7. Passapiede I. & II.
Duration of the Suite no.1, about 29:20
Suite No.2 in B minor BWV 1067
The second suite was chronologically placeable by scholars, around at 1721, although others think is dated
to after 1730. The suite no.2, was published for the first time in Leipzig in 1853.
The orchestral ensemble of the suite consists of: Flute, violin I. & II., Viola and B.C.
1. Ouverture.
2. Rondeau.
3. Sarabanda.
4. Bourrée I. & II.
5. Polonaise
6. Double
7. Minuetto
8. Badinerie
Duration of the Suite no.2, about 23:15                                                                                                                                                Suite no.3 in D major BWV 1068                                                                           The third suite can be placed between the last years of Bach at the court of Cöthen and the first years in Leipzig.
Two manuscripts were made by Felix Mendelssohn and copyist unknown.
The orchestral ensemble of the suite no.3 consists of: trumpet I. II. and III., timpani, oboe I. and II., violin I. and
II., viola and B.C.
1. Ouverture.
2. Aria.
3. Gavotta I. & II.
4. Bourrée I. & II.
5. Giga.
Duration of the Suite no.3, about 22:59
Suite no.4 in D major BWV 1069
It is assumed, that the suite no.4, was the last composed by Bach, attributing to the same author only 4 suites for
orchestra, we will see later how and why it was recognized at the same author the suite no.5.
The suite no.4, was composed in the period from his stay at the court of Cöthen to the early years in Leipzig, and
was performed for the first time in Leipzig in December of 1725, then published in 1881.
The orchestral suite no.4, consists of: oboe I., II. and III., bassoon, trumpet I., II. and III.,
timpani, violin I. and II., viola and continuo.
1. Ouverture.
2. Bourrée I. & II.
3. Gavotta.
4. Minuetto-Trio-Minuetto
5. Réjouissance.
Duration of the Suite no.4, about 28:05
Suite no.5 (Ouverture) in G minor BWV 1070
The Orchestral Suite in G minor, BWV 1070 is a work by an unknown composer. It is part of the Bach-Werke-
Verzeichnis catalogue (BWV catalogue) of the works of J.S. Bach, but was almost certainly not composed by him.
It is more likely that the composer was W. F. Bach. It is a French suite with an overture and several dances,
which is the same as the 4 orchestral suites by J. S. Bach. But one point making it different from the 4 orchestral
suites by J. S. Bach is that it has one movement in another key instead of the Ouverture.
This Suite is written for strings and continuo.
1. Larghetto – Un poco allegro (in G minor). The opening movement is a solemn piece in the form of
a prelude and fugue.
2. Torneo (in G minor and in binary form). The main melody of the movement has a dashing and rapid.
3. Aria (Adagio) (in E-flat major and in sonata form). It begins with a recitative-like figure, then adopts a more
measured, flowing style built on the same figurations.
4. Menuetto alternativo – Trio (in G minor and in ternary form, trio in G major). The main minuet in G minor is
equipped with heavy tread and the central trio in the bright G major (the tonic major) forms a contrast of mood with the main minuet.
5. Capriccio (in G minor). The concluding movement is a bustling piece written in a learned imitative style.
Duration of the Suite no5, about 26:18


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Bach – Orchestral Suites for Piano solo”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *