Composer: Mozart Wolgang Amadeus
publisher: Santino Cara
instrumentation: Piano
Scored For: Solo
Type of Score: Piano score
Year of Composition: 2016

Mozart – Six Viennese Quartets – Piano version

SKU: CS1725 Categories: ,
This score can be purchased on:


These six string quartets were composed by Mozart in Vienna in 1773, and are known as the: “Viennese Quartets”. Are definitely six well-made pearls if we think of the earlier quartets of Milan some ambiguous and complicated, that anticipate the six quartets dedicated to Haydn, because they are very similar. Unlike previous quartets (Milaneses) that were only three movements, those Viennese have all six four movements, and all with the Minuet and Trio. Starting with the quartet No. 8 to No.13, they are all very beautiful to sacoltare and play. They are very pleasant to play first because they are of medium difficulty, and because they are well colored musically, in a fun and witty, the transcription for piano of course, puts greater emphasis on the aspect of coloratura. The piano score faithfully reflects the four voices of the strings. I have not arranged, edited, etc., because I believe it to be very enjoyable as Mozart had composed them. In practice, each quartet that we are going to interpret always delightful surprises in store for us, we always want to go to discover the next with a curious and delicious emotion. The six quartets Viennese, were transcribed for piano solo in Rome in 2003 by Santino Cara and only in 2016 were digitized and published for the first time.

Quartet No. 8 in F major K. 168
1. Allegro
2. Andante
3. Menuetto and Trio
4. Allegro

Quartet No. 9 in A major K. 169
1. Molto allegro
2. Andante
3. Menuetto and Trio
4. Rondeau: allegro

Quartet No. 10 in C major K 170
1. Andante
2. Menuetto and Trio
3. Un poco adagio
4. Rondo: allegro

Quartet No. 11 in E flat major K. 171
1. Adagio – Allegro – Adagio
2. Menuetto and Trio
3. Andante
4. Allegro assai

Quartet No. 12 in B flat major K. 172
1. Allegro spiritoso
2. Adagio
3. Menuetto and Trio
4. Allegro assai

Quartet No. 13 in D minor K. 173
1. Allegro moderato
2. Andante grazioso
3. Menuetto and Trio
4. Allegro moderato


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Mozart – Six Viennese Quartets – Piano version”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *